Having A Parent/Father In A Nursing Home!

So my dad is in a nursing home, we had to put him in one a few months ago, back in September because hes 81 years old and hes a big and tall man. And over the last few years his physical condition has slowly been getting worse and worse and over the last year or so hes been falling some but by the end of last year it had gotten to the point where he was falling way to often and once again with him being such a big and tall man it makes it hard to get him up. And it has gotten to the point where my mom had to bathe him and where we would have to call people to help us get him from the bed to the bathroom and it just became to much by September. So we had to put him in a nursing home and oh my goodness how life has changed so much since hes been in the nursing home in so many ways for myself, my mom and my son.

First of all my dad behavior started changing a couple of years ago as he got older and older and me being so young I was & I’m still not prepared for any of this. But since hes been in the nursing home his behavior has gotten so much worse because he still has yet to accept that hes not coming back home because at the end of the day we can not take care of him at home anymore, he cant walk, he cant do anything for himself anymore at this point. He now needs somebody to take care of him full time at this point, he needs a nurse and somebody to take care of him full time and we cant do that at home anymore and he refuses to accept that so his behavior a lot of the time is terrible and this senile behavior started a couple of years ago and its gotten worse as time has gone on and hes gotten older by the day. But for me being 32 years old its been hard for me to know how to react and mentally handle having a senile father and a father that is slowly going down because of his old age.

But there are some good days when we go to see my dad, some days hes fine and he asks normal and doesn’t give us any issues, its almost like dealing with a bipolar person that doesn’t take medication, you never know if you’re going to get him on a good day or a bad day and some days it can be so draining and so much but this has sadly become my reality because my dad was so selfish to bring me into this world when he was 49 years old, when he had no business having a baby at that age and this is why people should not bring babies into this world past the age of 40 in my opinion because in the end their kids will pay for their selfishness and that’s not fair and its not right!

So I will continue to post updates on my journey with having a dad that’s in a nursing home, his mood swings and some of the times that I go to visit him. I know that I’m not the only person dealing with this issue, I don’t think that many people my age are dealing with this issue but I don’t think that I’m the only person going through this though. So I look forward to hearing from others that have or are currently dealing with having a parent in a nursing home.

Leave a Reply

